Bangkit Academy Log, Month 2

Gabriel Evan,BangkitGoogleGoToTravelokaLog
Logo Bangkit

Hi! My name is Gabrielle Evan Farrel, and I am a proud member of Bangkit Academy's 2023 cohort. I want to share with you my experience for the second month of this program. If you haven't read my first month's log, you can find it here.

But before I start, a quick summary of Bangkit Academy:

Bangkit Academy is a specialized learning institution that aims to equip students with the skills and certifications needed to succeed in the rapidly-evolving technology industry. The academy offers three distinct learning paths that are tailored to meet the demands of the modern workplace: machine learning, mobile development, and cloud computing.

The interdisciplinary nature of the Bangkit curriculum ensures that students receive a well-rounded education that prepares them for a variety of roles within the tech industry. By the end of the program, students will not only possess technical expertise but also soft skills and English proficiency that are crucial for success in the workplace.

Bangkit Academy's approach to education is unique in that it places a strong emphasis on real-world applications of the skills learned in class. Through hands-on projects and collaboration with industry partners, students gain valuable experience that will help them stand out to potential employers.

In short, Bangkit Academy is a comprehensive and innovative learning institution that provides students with the tools they need to succeed in the tech industry. Whether you are interested in machine learning, mobile development, or cloud computing, Bangkit Academy can help you achieve your goals and launch a successful career in this exciting field.

Week 5

This was a busy week for me as I had to travel back to my hometown for some administrative work. While I was there, I had to miss some of the asynchronous materials on dicoding and/or Coursera, but I did attend an ILT session on English spoken correspondence that helped me improve my language skills.

English Spoken Correspondence

English Spoken Correspondence

The following day, I attended an ILT session on critical thinking, which gave me a new perspective on how to solve real-world issues effectively. Later in the week, I took a day off for a holiday and traveled back to Malang city. The journey was tiring due to the treacherous terrain in the mountains, but it was worth it. I ended the day by tweaking my Linux system for better performance.

ILT Session on Critical Thinking

ILT Session on Critical Thinking

The next day was the first day of Ramadan, and I started reading material on System Administration on Coursera since I had finished all of the assignments for the week. It was enjoyable to go through the material.

To finish off the week, I had my weekly consultation with my mentor. I didn't attend the morning meeting, but I made up for it by attending the late-night replacement meeting. During the meeting, I shared my experiences about my university life, and it was fun to hear other people's differing opinions about their own universities.

Week 6

I was focused on completing courses on Coursera and GCSB. I started with the Coursera course titled 'System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services' and learned about the basics of System Administration.

I also attended an insightful ILT session on building great solutions with compute and network services in Google Cloud. Throughout the week, I continued with the Coursera course, making good progress and completing module 4/6. The course was thorough, although sometimes a bit uninteresting. Finally, I completed the course and found the final test to be quite challenging, but the modules had prepared me well.

Coursera System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services certificate

Coursera certificate

I also completed the GCSB course, which was about preparing oneself to take on Google's Associate Cloud Engineer. The challenges and real-life study cases were challenging, but I found them fun to work on. I'm excited to apply my newfound knowledge in the coming weeks and continue to learn and grow as a System Administrator.

GCSB Associate Cloud Engineer badge

GCSB Associate Cloud Engineer badge

Week 7

This week was dedicated to completing various courses on Google Cloud Platform. On the first day, I started working on the Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Core Services and managed to finish four submodules. The second day was spent attending an ILT session on Adaptability, which was very informative. The third day was dedicated to completing the Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation course. On the fourth day, I started the final course, Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure, which covers all the basics of Google Cloud Platform.

GCSB Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure badge

GCSB Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure badge

I also had my weekly consultation with my mentor at the end of the fourth day. By the last day of the week, I had completed all my assignments and gained a lot of knowledge from the courses.

Weekly consultation meeting

Weekly consultation meeting

Week 8

It was an exciting week as I had many activities related to my Bangkit Academy cohort. The mandatory student meeting was informative and gave me an insight into the capstone project, which was very helpful.

Bangkit Academy Student Meeting

Bangkit Academy Student Meeting

I had the opportunity to form a team, and we explored company expose for company-based capstone projects. It was an excellent opportunity to get a better understanding of the requirements and the available options.

Bangkit Academy Company Expose

Bangkit Academy Company Expose

I also attended an ILT session on data storage in Google Cloud Platform, which provided me with a deeper understanding of the subject. The weekly consultation session was an excellent opportunity to discuss our progress and any challenges we may be facing. It was helpful to receive feedback and insights from our instructors and peers.

Closing

Overall, my experience on the second month at Bangkit Academy was very exciting! I am looking forward to the upcoming weeks and excited to see what new challenges and opportunities lie ahead.

© Gabriel Evan.RSS