Bangkit Academy Log, Month 1

Gabriel Evan,BangkitGoogleGoToTravelokaLog
Logo Bangkit

Hi! My name is Gabrielle Evan Farrel, and I am a proud member of Bangkit Academy's 2023 cohort. I want to share with you my experience for the first month of this program.

But before I start, a quick explanation:

Bangkit Academy is a specialized learning institution that aims to equip students with the skills and certifications needed to succeed in the rapidly-evolving technology industry. The academy offers three distinct learning paths that are tailored to meet the demands of the modern workplace: machine learning, mobile development, and cloud computing.

The interdisciplinary nature of the Bangkit curriculum ensures that students receive a well-rounded education that prepares them for a variety of roles within the tech industry. By the end of the program, students will not only possess technical expertise but also soft skills and English proficiency that are crucial for success in the workplace.

Bangkit Academy's approach to education is unique in that it places a strong emphasis on real-world applications of the skills learned in class. Through hands-on projects and collaboration with industry partners, students gain valuable experience that will help them stand out to potential employers.

In short, Bangkit Academy is a comprehensive and innovative learning institution that provides students with the tools they need to succeed in the tech industry. Whether you are interested in machine learning, mobile development, or cloud computing, Bangkit Academy can help you achieve your goals and launch a successful career in this exciting field.

Week 0

During week 0, I attended a technical briefing session by Bangkit, learned pre-work on Dicoding and YouTube videos on Google Cloud Platform, and read some PDFs provided by the Academy. It was an exciting start as I was able to meet new and interesting friends in the Discord server and see who I was working with.

Dicoding certificate

Dicoding prework class certificate

Week 1

In week 1, I learned about creating a website front-end by using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. I learned through Dicoding with my Bangkit email. Towards the end of the week, I attended the first weekly meeting with my mentor and the grand opening of the Bangkit Academy.

It was an amazing experience! I also set up accounts for Coursera and Google Cloud Platform, which will be used for next week's courses and challenges. We also had an ILT session that discussed growth mindset and its importance in making myself a better person and team player.

Weekly meeting

First weekly meeting

Week 2

Week 2 was all about working hard on finishing my Google Cloud Skill Boost courses. I learned a lot about how Google Cloud Platform works, the inner workings of its architecture, pricing considerations, and managing the system. I also learned about AI and Machine Learning and how easy it is to implement and work on this type of challenge in Google Cloud Platform.

However, I faced an issue with my Coursera account, and it took a few days for the Bangkit team to reply to my email.

GCSB badges

GCSB completion badges

Week 3

Week 3 was a wild one! I was anxious about my Coursera course deadline since I still couldn't access the course itself. Eventually, I received an invitation mail to the course, but I also received a message from the Bangkit team about my final grade being affected if I didn't finish the course on time. It was frustrating since I had been waiting for a reply for a week.

On top of that, I got into a motorcycle accident, making this week quite eventful.

Courseca certificate

Coursera course completion certificate

Week 4

Week 4 was a smoother one. I learned about the ins and outs of the JavaScript programming language, using it in object-oriented and functional-oriented programming. I also learned about how to use Node.js and how to manage project dependencies and maintenance using npm. I then applied this knowledge to develop a backend web project that runs using HTTP requests with REST API.

Dicoding also taught me about how to automate testing on the developed API using Postman, increasing my efficiency in project development. The final project assessment left a bit to be desired due to the use of ESLint, which had a weird code style compared to Code Prettier.

Dicoding project

Dicoding Final project and submission assessment

Closing

Overall, it has been an exciting first month at Bangkit Academy. There were some bumps along the way, but I learned a lot and gained valuable experiences. I am excited to see what the next few months have in store for me.

© Gabriel Evan.RSS